Social media marketing for real estate is NOT ENOUGH

Trigger warning for my fellow keyboard warriors

Let’s talk about real estate marketing. There are so many levers, and if you’re like me social media is your favorite. But this cannot be the only way, nor the primary channel for you to rely on as a realtor.

POSTING ON SOCIAL MEDIA IS NOT ENOUGH

Every real estate agent who was about to post a TikTok when this landed in their inbox

Yes, someone will undoubtedly come out of the woodwork and prove me wrong by showing they generated most of their business via social media. This person does exist. They are also the minority and NOT THE RULE.

Remember this all comes from a social media guy who:

  • Uses Facebook, Instagram, Twitter (X), and TikTok

  • Made 1,000+ Instagram posts, countless more reels

  • Recorded 100s of podcasts

  • And posted over 250 YouTube videos

  • Been saying “Send Me Your Deals” for 10+ years on social

Now that you know all of this, I have to tell you…

POSTING ON SOCIAL MEDIA IS NOT A REAL ESTATE MARKETING PLAN

Here is what I love most about social media marketing as a realtor:

  • I feel like a “marketer” because I’m making commercials

  • Get to use my creativity

  • Very easy and can make a post in less than 5 minutes

  • Can post and move on without validation or analysis

  • It lets people get to know the real me

  • Sometimes it gets me deals

Here’s what I DON’T love most about special media marketing:

  • It doesn’t typically bring in new people (more nurture than acquisition)

  • Unpredictable and highly volatile

  • Too easy to not be disciplined and inconsistent

  • Does not pay the bills

If you don’t love social media then why the hell are you on it so much?

Turns out that I love creating content. And after 10 years it has generated connections, business partners, and even deals for buying and selling houses.

However social media didn’t drive my business, especially early in my career. Other marketing channels drove leads and my business. Social media has helped me get the most out of that business by talking about it and getting me in the room. I would have had nothing to talk about if I wasn’t doing the grind that nobody wants to talk about… cold calling, prospecting, and meetings.

This is where most of my business came from, and it wasn’t pretty

My business changed when I started daily prospecting.

  • Sit down at your desk

  • 2-3 hours per day calling leads

  • Follow-up with the leads

  • Comp houses

  • Set meetings

  • Solve problems

  • Ask for the business

Turns out this is when I started getting the most deals for traditional real estate and wholesaling. This is how the sausage gets made. Maximizing opportunities for conversations by picking up the phone and getting in front of homeowners and home buyers. More conversations = more business.

Not sure what that means? Don’t worry, I’ll keep breaking down those components in upcoming newsletters. Or you can follow me @templeton_walker on Instagram. Or join the Facebook group.

Not sure who to call? Need leads to call?

— Temp

Join the conversation

or to participate.